U.S. CBP reminder regarding imports of steel and aluminum subject to Section 232 duties

A CBP release to importers regarding steel and aluminum that are subject to Section 232 customs duties

A CBP release regarding imports of steel and aluminum subject to Section 232 duties

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today issued a release to importers regarding steel and aluminum imported from countries subject to Section 232 customs duties.

Today’s CBP release (CSMS #52834487) reminds importers that for imports from countries subject to Section 232 duties on steel and aluminum imports, when filing an entry of a steel or aluminum import under a Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) classification subject to Section 232 General Approved Exclusions (GAEs), they need to report the applicable Chapter 72, 73, or 76 HTS classification. These importers are directed not to file the Section 232 Chapter 99 HTS classification for the Section 232 duties.


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.