U.S. list of “medical supplies” licensed for exportation to Ukraine

OFAC is making several technical corrections to items on the list, but is not making any substantive changes to the list.

OFAC is making several technical corrections to items on the list

The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice publishing the list of items defined as “medical supplies” and generally licensed for exportation or reexportation to the Crimea region of Ukraine.

Read the OFAC notice [PDF 278 KB]

Summary

  • The list of medical supplies has previously existed as a companion document to Ukraine-/Russia-related General License 4, which OFAC has incorporated into its Ukraine-/Russia-related sanctions regulations.
  • OFAC is amending the list to replace the reference to General License 4 with a reference to the location of the general license in the Ukraine-/Russia-related sanctions regulations.
  • OFAC is making several technical corrections to items on the list, but is not making any substantive changes to the list, which was last updated on August 12, 2016.


For more information on sanctions and other responses to Russia’s war on Ukraine, visit KPMG’s dedicated website.

Contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.