close
Share with your friends

Canada: Increased penalties for customs contraventions

Canada: Increased penalties for customs contraventions

Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) today updated Customs Notice 19-05 announcing changes to customs monetary penalties will be effective April 1, 2019.

1000

Related content

According to Customs Notice 19-05 (as amended), CBSA’s administrative monetary penalties have been identified as “being too low to improve compliance with trade programs.” The customs notice advises importers that 22 contraventions related to commercial trade will be amended, effective April 1, 2019, to bring the penalty levels in line with other non-trade commercial penalties. These increases will affect non-compliant importers only.

The customs notice includes a table that sets out the contraventions that will have their penalty amounts increased. The contraventions’ guidelines will be updated to reflect the new penalty amounts.

The CBSA is not increasing system-generated penalties related to the timing for accounting for imported goods (these are penalties relating to a failure to account for imported goods within five business days of their release when estimated value is greater than $2,500* and a failure to account for imported goods no later than the 24th day of the month following the month of their release where estimated value does not exceed $2,500). The maximum administrative monetary penalty of $25,000 remains unchanged.

*$ = Canadian dollar

For more information, contact a trade & customs professional from the KPMG member firm in Canada:

Angelos Xilinas | +1 604 691 3479 | axilinas@kpmg.ca

 

Or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

Request for proposal