OECD: First automatic CRS exchanges to occur this month | KPMG | GLOBAL
Share with your friends

OECD: First automatic CRS exchanges to occur this month

OECD: First automatic CRS exchanges to occur this month

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) today announced that this month, the first automatic exchanges of information under the common reporting standard (CRS) regime concerning offshore financial accounts to the tax authorities of the residence country of account holders will take place. The OECD reported that currently, there are 102 jurisdictions that have committed to implement the CRS—49 jurisdictions being committed to start exchanges this month and the other 53 jurisdiction expected to begin exchanges in September 2018.


Related content

Today’s OECD release notes that the CRS multilateral competent authority agreement (CRS MCAA) is typically the instrument being used for cooperation in tax matters, with 95 jurisdictions having signed the CRS MCAA. While the CRS MCAA is a multilateral agreement, exchange relationships for CRS information are bilateral in nature and are activated when both jurisdictions have the domestic framework for CRS exchange in place and have listed each other as intended exchange partners. There are now over 2,000 bilateral relationships for the automatic exchange of CRS information. 

With first exchanges set to happen shortly, the 49 jurisdictions have activated their exchange relationships under the CRS MCAA. The network of bilateral exchange relationships (also including those established through the EU DAC2 Directive and bilateral agreements) applies to over 99% of the total number of possible exchange relationships. In addition, 20 of the 53 jurisdictions committed to first exchanges in 2018 have already put the international legal requirements in place to allow exchanges under the CRS MCAA next year. Another activation round for jurisdictions committed to a 2018 timeline is scheduled to take place in November 2017.

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us


Request for proposal