U.S. customs user fees and limitations adjusted for FY 2023

Specific adjustments to certain customs user fees and corresponding limitations that will be effective October 1, 2022

U.S. customs user fees and limitations adjusted for FY 2023

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today issued a release listing specific adjustments to certain customs user fees and corresponding limitations that will be effective October 1, 2022.

A CBP general notice, published last week in the Federal Register, announced adjustments to customs user fees and limitations for fiscal year (FY) 2023. Read TradeNewsFlash

According to today’s CBP release (CSMS #52834229):

  • The merchandise processing fee (MPF) ad valorem rate of 0.3464% will not change. The MPF minimum and maximum for formal entries (class code 499) will change. The minimum will change from $27.75 to $29.66; and the maximum will change from $538.40 to $575.35.
  • The fee for informal entry/release, automated and not prepared by CBP personnel (class code 311a) will change to $2.37.
  • The surcharge for manual entry/release (class code 500) will change to $3.56.
  • The dutiable mail fee (class code 496) will change to $6.52.
  • The express consignment carrier/centralized hub facility fee will change to $1.19 per individual waybill/bill of lading. An individual air waybill is the bill at the lowest level, and is not a master bill or other consolidated document. 
  • The commercial vessel or commercial aircraft passenger arrival customs fee will change to $6.52 per passenger.
  • The commercial vessel passenger arrival (from exempt areas) customs fee will change to $2.29 per passenger.
  • The commercial truck arrival fee will change to $6.50.  The commercial truck arrival fee is the CBP fee only; it does not include the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) agricultural and quarantine inspection (AQI) services fee (currently $7.55) that is collected by CBP on behalf of USDA to make a total single crossing fee of $14.05.


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.