U.S. publication of Russia-related general licenses, new and amended FAQs

OFAC release also includes changes made to the SDN list

New and amended FAQs

The U.S. Department of the Treasury's Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today published two Russia-related general licenses, two new “frequently asked questions” (FAQs), two amended FAQs, and changes to OFAC's list of specially designated nationals (SDN list). 

  • General License 45 [PDF 154 KB]—Authorizing transactions related to the wind down of certain financial contracts prohibited by Executive Order 14071
  • General License 46 [PDF 150 KB]—Authorizing transactions in support of an auction process to settle certain credit derivative transactions prohibited by Executive Order 14071
  • New FAQs (released July 22, 2022)
  • Amended FAQs (updated July 22, 2022)

Today’s OFAC release includes the changes made to the SDN list.


For more information on sanctions and other responses to Russia’s war on Ukraine, visit KPMG’s dedicated website.

Contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.