U.S. increase in “Column 2” duties for articles from Russia

All articles that are the product of Russia imposed by heading 9903.90.08 will be subject to a 35% ad valorem rate of duty.

Articles from Russia

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today issued a release announcing an increase in “Column 2” duties for certain articles from Russia by Presidential Proclamation 10420.

Read the CBP release—CSMS #52458835

Background

The president in April 2022 signed H.R. 7108, the “Suspending Normal Trade Relations with Russia and Belarus Act.” With this legislation, imports from Russia and Belarus are subject to the rates of duty set forth in Column 2 of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS). This legislation also grants authorization to the president to proclaim increases in the Column 2 rates of duty applicable to the products of Russia or Belarus.

Implementation

Effective on or after 12:01 AM EDT on July 27, 2022, for goods entered for consumption, or withdrawn from warehouse for consumption, subchapter III of chapter 99 of the HTSUS is modified by inserting a new heading 9903.90.08.

All articles that are the product of Russia imposed by heading 9903.90.08, under subheadings enumerated in U.S. note 30(b), will be subject to a 35% ad valorem rate of duty in lieu of the rates of duty provided for such articles in Column 2 of the HTSUS in chapters 1 to 97.

 

For more information on sanctions and other responses to Russia’s war on Ukraine, visit KPMG’s dedicated website.

Contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.