U.S. DHS announces partnership to combat importation of goods produced with forced labor

Strategic partnership between DHS’s Center for Countering Human Trafficking (CCHT) and an international non-governmental organization (NGO)

U.S. DHS announces partnership to combat importation

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security today announced a strategic partnership between DHS’s Center for Countering Human Trafficking (CCHT) and an international non-governmental organization (NGO) to enhance DHS’s ability to investigate forced labor in the supply chain.

Today’s DHS release announces that the partnership with the NGO, formalized through a “memorandum of understanding” signed this week, will enable CCHT to further:

  • Streamline intelligence
  • Initiate new criminal investigations
  • Advance ongoing investigations to hold corporations and individual perpetrators accountable

The NGO will provide critical documentary evidence to support allegations that forced labor is occurring at manufacturing facilities in countries of interest.

Background

Globally, forced labor is estimated to be the predominant form of human trafficking. Partnerships with NGOs and civil society organizations (CSOs) help identify corporations using forced labor in their supply chains, advance counter-human trafficking law enforcement operations, protect victims, and enhance prevention efforts.

President Biden in December 2021 signed legislation to combat forced labor by imposing restrictions related to China's Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous region, such as prohibiting certain imports from Xinjiang and imposing sanctions on those responsible for human rights violations there. Read TradeNewsFlash

 

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.