U.S. order temporarily denying export privileges of Belarusian airline

Effective immediately and will remain in effect for 180 days

Belarusian airline

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Department of Commerce today released for publication in the Federal Register an order temporarily denying export privileges of a Belarusian airline.

The Office of Export Enforcement requested the order based upon facts indicating that the Belarusian airline engaged in conduct prohibited by the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) by operating aircraft subject to the EAR and classified under Export Control Classification Number (ECCN) 9A991 on flights into Russia and Belarus after April 8, 2022, without the required BIS authorization.

The order temporarily denying export privileges [PDF 267 KB] is effective immediately and will remain in effect for 180 days. (Note that the notice is dated June 16, 2022, and scheduled to be published in the Federal Register on June 22, 2022).
 

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.