U.S. launch of Uyghur Forced Labor Prevention Act enforcement strategy

Forced Labor Enforcement Task Force

Forced Labor Enforcement Task Force

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) issued a release announcing that the Forced Labor Enforcement Task Force has launched the Uyghur Forced Labor Prevention Act (UFLPA) enforcement strategy

According to the USTR release, the launch of this enforcement strategy precedes the June 21, 2022 effective date when U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is beginning enforcement of the UFLPA’s rebuttable presumption that prohibits, pursuant to Section 307 of the Tariff Act of 1930, the importation of any goods, wares, articles, and merchandise mined, produced or manufactured wholly or in part in the China’s Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region or produced by certain entities. Read TradeNewsFlash

Background

The Forced Labor Enforcement Task Force, chaired by Department of Homeland Security, leads efforts to monitor the enforcement of the prohibition on importing goods made wholly or in part with forced labor into the United States. The Forced Labor Enforcement Task Force is comprised of seven member agencies, including the Office of the USTR, and the Departments of Labor, State, Treasury, Justice, and Commerce. 


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.