Trade agreement between EU and New Zealand

Officials from the European Union and New Zealand concluded negotiations for a trade agreement.

Concluded negotiations for a trade agreement

Officials from the European Union (EU) and New Zealand today concluded negotiations for a trade agreement.

According to an EC release, the trade agreement would:

  • Provide new export opportunities for businesses
  • Eliminate tariffs on EU exports such as "pigmeat," wine and sparkling wine, chocolate, sugar confectionary and biscuits
  • Protect the full list of EU wines and spirits
  • Integrate the EU's new approach to trade and sustainable development 

Next steps

  • The negotiated draft texts are scheduled to be published shortly. These texts will go through legal revision (“legal scrubbing”) and will be translated into all official EU languages.
  • Following that, the European Commission will submit the agreement for signature and conclusion to the European Council. Once adopted by the Council, the EU and New Zealand can sign the agreement.
  • Following the signature, the text will be transmitted to the European Parliament for consent.
  • After the consent by the Parliament, and once New Zealand also ratifies it, the agreement can enter into force.


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.