U.S. tariff-rate quotas for steel and aluminum articles of the UK

Tariff-rate quotas for steel and aluminum articles of the UK addressing quantity thresholds for June 1, 2022, through June 30, 2022

Guidance on tariff-rate quota for steel articles of the UK addressing quantity thresholds

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today issued guidance on the tariff-rate quotas for steel and aluminum articles of the UK addressing quantity thresholds for June 1, 2022, through June 30, 2022.

The tariff-rate quotas open on June 1, 2022.

Steel tariff-rate quota

Section 232 steel products from the UK that are in-quota will enter free of any Section 232 duty.  Subject entries that enter after each quota fills are subject to Section 232 duties under Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) 9903.80.01.

According to a CBP release—CSMS #52044852—in alignment with “A Proclamation on Adjusting Imports of Steel into the United States” (signed May 31, 2022), quantitative limitations applicable to imports of iron or steel products under HTS subheadings 9903.81.25 through 9903.81.78 for the 2022 quota year are limited on a quarterly basis. Effective June 1, 2022, imports of steel derivatives from the UK will no longer be subject to additional duties under HTS subheading 9903.80.03.

Aluminum tariff-rate quota

According to a CBP release—CSMS #52045251—in alignment with “A Proclamation on Adjusting Imports of Aluminum into the United States” (signed May 31, 2022), quantitative limitations applicable to imports of aluminum products under HTS subheadings 9903.85.25 through 9903.85.44 for the 2022 quota year are limited on a semi-annual basis.
 

Contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.