U.S. statutory four-year review of Section 301 tariffs, imports from China

A notice announcing the commencement of statutory four-year review of Section 301 tariffs

A notice announcing commencement of statutory four-year review of Section 301 tariffs

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today issued a notice announcing the commencement of the statutory process required leading up to the four-year anniversaries of the two tariff actions (effective on July 6, 2018 and August 23, 2018, respectively) in the Section 301 investigation of China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation. 

Read the USTR notice [PDF 132 KB]

As noted in a related USTR release, the first step in the process is to notify representatives of domestic industries that benefit from the tariff actions of the possible termination of those actions and of the opportunity for the representatives to request continuation. If a request for continuation is received, USTR will conduct a review of the tariff actions.

Background

The USTR is providing notice to representatives of domestic industries that benefit from the tariff actions through letters to interested parties that previously submitted comments in support of the tariff actions and through the issuance of the notice. 

Requests for continuation must be submitted prior to the four-year anniversary of each respective action.  If a continuation is granted, USTR will proceed with the next phase of the review, which will be announced in one or more subsequent notices and will include an opportunity for all interested persons to provide comments.   


Contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.