USTR releases annual “special 301 report” on protecting intellectual property rights

Adequacy and effectiveness of the U.S. trading partner countries’ protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights

Protecting intellectual property rights

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released its annual “special 301 report” on the adequacy and effectiveness of the U.S. trading partner countries’ protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights.

The “special 301 report” details the USTR’s findings of more than 100 trading partner countries after significant research and enhanced engagement with stakeholders.

Read the USTR release

The 2022 report [PDF 847 KB] highlights progress made by U.S. trading partners to resolve and address intellectual property rights issues of concern to the United States, revealing that:

  • Kuwait is removed from the “watch list” for making continued and significant progress on concerns that stakeholders identified with intellectual property enforcement and transparency.  
  • Saudi Arabia is removed from the “priority watch list” due to steps taken to publish intellectual property enforcement procedures; increase enforcement against counterfeit and pirated goods and online pirated content; create specialized intellectual property enforcement courts with trained judges and expedited timelines; conduct strong intellectual property awareness, outreach, training, and support; set up a centralized committee to coordinate intellectual property enforcement actions across multiple authorities; and train intellectual property specialists in 76 different authorities to increase government compliance with intellectual property laws.
  • Romania is removed from the “watch list” due to taking significant actions to improve intellectual property protection and enforcement.  
  • Lebanon is removed from the “watch list” as stakeholders have not raised significant concerns about intellectual property protection or enforcement during the “special 301 review.”


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.