U.S. fact sheet, general license related to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) documents

U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) documents

The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today issued the following documents related to Russia’s ongoing invasion of Ukraine.

  • A fact sheet [PDF 242 KB] for “preserving agricultural trade, access to communication, and other support to those impacted by Russia’s war against Ukraine” outlines humanitarian and food-related authorizations issued by OFAC and provides consolidated information for financial institutions, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and market participants to more easily assess whether they are engaging in authorized or exempt transactions.
  • Russia-related General License 27 [PDF 142 KB]—“Certain transactions in support of nongovernmental organizations' activities.” OFAC has issued many general licenses to mitigate unintended effects of sanctions imposed by the United States on Russia. In particular, Treasury has focused on preserving global food supply chains through General License 6A, which provides a carve-out for transactions related to the exportation or reexportation of agricultural commodities to, from, or transiting Russia.

Read a related Treasury release
 

For more information on sanctions and other responses to Russia’s war on Ukraine, visit KPMG’s dedicated website.
 

Contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.