U.S. Congress approves legislation to revoke Russia’s trade status and ban imports of Russian oil

The bills will be enrolled and sent to the White House for action by the president.

Revoke Russia’s trade status and ban imports of Russian oil

The U.S. Senate today passed a pair of bills, by a vote of 100 to 0, in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. 

The legislation would:

  • Revoke Russia’s trade status
  • Enact a ban on Russian oil

Shortly after Senate passage, the U.S. House of Representatives also passed the bills. The bills will be enrolled and sent to the White House for action by the president.

  • Read text [PDF 45 KB] of H.R. 7108: Suspension of Normal Trade Relations with Russia and Belarus
  • Read text [PDF 34 KB] of H.R. 6968: Prohibition on Importation of Energy Products of the Russian Federation


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.