KPMG report: Tariffs on imports from China held valid (U.S. trade court decision)

Over $200 billion in tariffs on Chinese-origin imports were valid.

U.S. trade court decision

The U.S. Court of International Trade, in an April 2022 decision, held that over $200 billion in tariffs on Chinese-origin imports were valid.

However, the court found that the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) failed to respond adequately to public comments during the notice and comment rulemaking process and remanded the cases to the USTR for further reconsideration and explanation regarding the USTR’s rationale for imposing the List 3 and 4A tariffs, as well as the reasons for placing or removing products from the lists.

Read an April 2022 report [PDF 141 KB] prepared by KPMG LLP that summarizes the decision [PDF 724 KB] and discusses the implications for U.S. importers: What’s News in Tax: CIT Issues Decision in Section 301 Cases
 

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.