CBP provides trade statistics for FY 2021

Trade and travel report for fiscal year 2021

Trade and travel report for fiscal year 2021

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) released a report on trade statistics for fiscal year (FY) 2021.

Read the CBP report [PDF 1.2 MB] (27 pages)

According to a related CBP release (April 15, 2022), in FY 2021:

  • CBP issued seven withhold and release orders, two forced labor findings, and detained 1,469 shipments that contained approximately $486 million of goods suspected to be made by forced labor. 
  • CBP seized tens of millions of illegal, counterfeit, unapproved or otherwise substandard COVID-19-related products. 53% of the seizures occurred in the express consignment environment, 18% were discovered in incoming mail, and roughly 31% originated in China.
  • CBP processed more entries and collected more duties than in FY 2020, exceeding pre-pandemic levels in both volume and value. CBP processed 36.9 million entries valued at over $2.8 trillion during FY 2021 and collected approximately $85.5 billion in duties (14.9% increase over FY 2020). Overall, CBP collected approximately $93.8 billion in duties, taxes and other fees on behalf of the U.S. government in FY 2021 (133% increase over a five-year period).
     

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.