U.S. proposed legislation would suspend normal trade relations with Russia and Belarus

Bill would expand U.S. trade tools to stop Russia’s war on Ukraine and to hold Belarus accountable for its involvement.

Expand U.S. trade tools to stop Russia’s war on Ukraine

U.S. House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Richard E. Neal (D-MA) and ranking member Kevin Brady (R-TX) today introduced legislation that would suspend normal trade relations with Russia and Belarus.

According to a Ways and Means release, the legislation includes additional provisions that would expand U.S. trade tools to stop Russia’s war on Ukraine and to hold Belarus accountable for its involvement.

To become legislation, both the House and Senate would have to pass the same version of the bill, followed by signature by the president. The introduction of the bill is simply the first step in this process.

The legislation, if enacted, would:

  • Provide the president with time-limited authority to increase tariffs on products of Russia and Belarus, until January 1, 2024
  • Require the U.S. Trade Representative to use “the voice and influence of the United States” to seek suspension of Russia’s participation in the World Trade Organization (WTO) and to halt Belarus’ WTO accession and accession-related work
  • Provide the president with the authority to restore normal trade relations with Russia and Belarus if these countries have ceased their acts of aggression against Ukraine and other certain conditions are met, but granting Congress the authority to overrule such a decision through a congressional disapproval process

Read a one-page description [PDF 62 KB]

Read text [PDF 84 KB] of the bill
 

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.