USTR technical amendments to HTSUS (Section 301 investigation of China)

Two technical modifications in the HTSUS notes implementing the additional duties

Section 301 investigation of China

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice concerning the Section 301 investigation of China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation.

The U.S. International Trade Commission implemented certain changes to statistical reporting categories in the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) to conform to amendments adopted by the World Customs Organization, effective January 27, 2022. Read TradeNewsFlash

Today’s notice [PDF 193 KB] makes two technical modifications in the HTSUS notes implementing the additional duties to rectify a technical error and to confirm that those amendments do not extend the scope of the additional duties in the China Section 301 investigation.

Full text of technical modifications

Effective with respect to goods entered for consumption, or withdrawn from warehouse for consumption, on or after 12:01 a.m. eastern standard time on January 27, 2022:

1. U.S. note 20(f) to subchapter III of chapter 99 of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) is amended by deleting “2931.49.00”; and

2. U.S. note 20(u) to subchapter III of chapter 99 of the HTSUS is amended:

            a. by deleting “2931.39.00”; and

            b. by inserting “2931.49.00”, in numerical sequence.

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.