U.S. sanctions imposed on transactions, trade with Russia

Intended to have both immediate and long-term effects on the Russian economy and financial system

Trade with Russia

The U.S. government today responded to Russia’s further invasion of Ukraine by imposing sanctions intended to have both immediate and long-term effects on the Russian economy and financial system.

The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today imposed expansive economic measures that target the Russian financial system—including all of Russia’s largest financial institutions and the ability of state-owned and private entities to raise capital—and further bars Russia from the global financial system.

Read the Treasury release

Regarding trade-related sanctions, OFAC issued several general licenses, and in particular, eight general licenses authorizing certain transactions related to:

  • International organizations and entities
  • Agricultural and medical commodities and the covid-19 pandemic
  • Overflight and emergency landings
  • Energy
  • Dealings in certain debt or equity
  • Derivative contracts
  • The wind down of transactions involving certain blocked persons
  • The rejection of transactions involving certain blocked persons

To provide further guidance on these authorizations and today’s action, OFAC also issued a set of “frequently asked questions” (FAQs). Read an OFAC release

Today’s actions were taken pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 14024, which authorizes sanctions against Russia for its harmful foreign activities, including violating core principles of international law such as respect for the territorial integrity of sovereign states.

In a related action, OFAC also announced sanctions for the involvement of Belarus in supporting Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Read the Treasury release

 

For more information contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.