UAE: Implications of 2022 GCC unified customs tariff, effective 1 February 2022

The “2022 Tariff Nomenclature” is effective beginning 1 February 2022

The “2022 Tariff Nomenclature” is effective beginning 1 February 2022

The “2022 Tariff Nomenclature”—effective beginning 1 February 2022 in the Gulf Cooperative Council member states—was confirmed by UAE Customs authorities through the issuance of Customs Notice 01/2022.

The Harmonized System is a standardized numerical method of classifying traded products, used by customs authorities to identify products when assessing duties and taxes and for gathering statistics.

  • Most product categories have been affected by the recent changes to the list, mainly relating to different types of machinery and their parts (Chapters 84 and 85).  
  • New technologies—e.g., smartphones, vapes, and drones—received specific subheadings in the updated list.
  • The new changes will affect companies dealing with agricultural, chemical, wood, textile, and metal products.

KPMG observation

Companies need to review and adapt their products’ database to reflect the changes.

Read a February 2022 report prepared by the KPMG member firm in the United Arab Emirates


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.