OFAC sanctions prohibiting U.S. persons from engaging in transactions with certain Russian financial entities

OFAC issued a release prohibiting U.S. persons from engaging in transactions with certain Russian financial entities

OFAC release prohibiting U.S. persons from engaging in transactions with Russian entities

The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today issued a release prohibiting U.S. persons from engaging in transactions with certain Russian financial entities.

Today’s OFAC release announces the following Russia-related measures:

  • Directive 4 under Executive Order 14024
  • General License 8A
  • Additions and updates to OFAC’s specially designated nationals list (SDN list)

Read a related Treasury release

OFAC updated the SDN list by adding Russia’s president and minister of foreign affairs. Read the OFAC release


For more information contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.