WTO decision in United States-China dispute over subsidy duties

Decision allowing China to impose tariffs of approximately $645 million with regard to imports of U.S. goods

Decision allowing China to impose tariffs of approximately $645 million

The World Trade Organization (WTO) today announced that a WTO arbitrator has issued a decision allowing China to impose tariffs of approximately $645 million with regard to imports of U.S. goods.

Read the WTO release and a two-page summary [PDF 269 KB] of the WTO decision in “United States — Countervailing Duty Measures on Certain Products from China” (DS437).

Summary of key findings

According to the WTO webpage:

  • Before the Dispute Settlement Body (DSB), China requested DSB authorization to suspend concessions or other obligations to the United States with respect to goods under the agreements described in Article 22.3(g)(i) of the Dispute Settlement Understanding (DSU) at an annual amount of $2.4 billion.
  • According to China, this was equivalent to the level of nullification or impairment caused by the U.S. failure to implement the DSB recommendations and rulings concerning the imposition of countervailing duties on a range of Chinese products, and the investigations leading to the imposition of such duties.
  • The WTO arbitrator determined that the appropriate level of nullification or impairment was approximately $645 million per annum. The arbitrator concluded that, in accordance with Article 22 of the DSU, China may request authorization from the DSB to suspend concessions or other obligations at a level not exceeding $645.121 million per annum.



For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.