U.S. House bill includes trade provisions and addresses trading relationship with China

H.R. 4521 includes provisions to address the United States-China trading relationship as well as other general trade measures

Addresses trading relationship with China

U.S. House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Richard E. Neal (D-MA) on January 25, 2022, introduced H.R. 4521, the America COMPETES Act of 2022, that includes provisions to address the United States-China trading relationship as well as other general trade measures.

According to a Ways and Means release, the trade title—the American Worker and Trade Competitiveness Act—includes provisions that would:

  • Reauthorize and modernize Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) programs
  • Extend and reform the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) and Miscellaneous Tariff Bill (MTB) legislation
  • Strengthen U.S. international trade laws to prevent “unfairly traded goods” from exploiting the de minimis import threshold
  • Authorize the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) to take strategic steps to improve supply chain resiliency
  • Strengthen U.S. anti-dumping and countervailing duty laws to protect U.S. workers and to address China’s anti-free market trade practices that distort the global market
  • Reaffirm the U.S. government’s commitment to the World Trade Organization (WTO)
  • Allow U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) to update its staffing model “to better respond to the challenges of the modern trading system”

Read a one-page description [PDF 143 KB] of the trade title

Read full text [PDF 6.1 MB] of H.R. 4521



For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.