U.S. forced labor findings, imports of palm oil from Malaysia and seafood from Taiwan

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) notices of forced labor findings

Imports of palm oil from Malaysia and seafood from Taiwan

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today released for publication in the Federal Register two notices of forced labor findings.

  • The first general notice of forced labor finding [PDF 254 KB] announces that CBP, with the approval of the Secretary of Homeland Security, has determined that certain palm oil and derivative products made wholly or in part with palm oil produced by a Malaysian company, its subsidiaries, and joint ventures with the use of convict, forced or indentured labor, are being, or are likely to be, imported into the United States. Based upon this determination, the port director may seize covered merchandise and commence forfeiture proceedings, unless the importer establishes by satisfactory evidence that the merchandise was not produced in any part with the use of prohibited labor.
  • A second general notice of forced labor finding [PDF 256 KB] announces that CBP, with the approval of the Secretary of Homeland Security, has determined that certain seafood has been harvested by a Taiwanese fishing vessel with the use of convict, forced or indentured labor, and is being, or is likely to be, imported into the United States. Based upon this determination, the port director may seize the covered merchandise and commence forfeiture proceedings, unless the importer establishes by satisfactory evidence that the merchandise was not produced in any part with the use of prohibited labor.
     

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.