U.S. business advisory, risks associated with doing business in Myanmar

Heightened risks associated with doing business in Myanmar, particularly business transactions involving the military regime

Heightened risks associated with doing business in Myanmar

The U.S. Treasury Department—together with the Departments of State, Commerce, Homeland Security, Labor, and the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR)—today issued a business advisory to inform the public of the heightened risks associated with doing business in Myanmar, particularly business transactions involving the military regime.

According to a Treasury release, since the military coup in February 2021, the military in Myanmar has engaged in “a pattern of serious human rights abuse against the people of Myanmar.” The coup has also significantly damaged the economic and business environment in Myanmar.

Treasury announced that businesses and individuals with potential exposure to, or involvement in operations or supply chains tied to the military regime that do not conduct appropriate due diligence run the risk of significant reputational, financial, and legal risks, including violations of U.S. anti-money laundering laws and sanctions. 

Businesses and financial institutions are encouraged by Treasury to reassess and mitigate the heightened risks posed by the military’s attempts to reassert economic and financial control in Myanmar.

Read the business advisory [PDF 510 KB] (January 26, 2022)
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.