U.S. interim final rule removes 30 exclusions from Section 232 tariff exclusions, steel and aluminum imports

An interim final rule that revises the list of exclusions under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962.

An interim final rule that revises the list of exclusions under Section 232

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department (Commerce) today released for publication in the Federal Register an interim final rule that revises the list of exclusions with regard to the imposition of tariff customs duties for imports of aluminum and steel under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962.

A prior interim final rule (December 2020) revised aspects of the process for requesting exclusions from the duties and quantitative limitations on imports of aluminum and steel, and added 123 general approved exclusions. Read TradeNewsFlash

Today’s interim final rule [PDF 343 KB] removes 30 exclusions from the December 2020 list of 123 exclusions—26 for steel and four for aluminum imports. The removed exclusions are identified by their Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) codes.

The remaining exclusions continue to apply.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.