U.S. final regulations amending EAR and ITAR regarding Cambodia

Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR)

Export Administration Regulations and International Traffic in Arms Regulations

Final regulations released today for publication in the Federal Register concern the revision of controls for Cambodia under the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR).

  • A final rule [PDF 306 KB] issued by the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department amends the EAR to apply more restrictive treatment to exports and reexports to, and transfers within, Cambodia of items subject to the EAR. The final rule also updates a country group designation for Cambodia under the EAR to reflect the country’s identification by the U.S. State Department as subject to a U.S. arms embargo.
  • A final rule [PDF 247 KB] issued by the State Department amends the ITAR to add Cambodia to the list of countries for which it is the policy of the United States to deny licenses and other approvals for exports and imports of defense articles and defense services. Thus, the United States will deny all licenses and other approvals to export and import defense articles and defense services destined for or originating in Cambodia (except as otherwise provided in the final rule).

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.