U.S. additions and modification to EAR entity list

Entities determined to be acting contrary to the foreign policy or national security interests of the United States

Entities determined to be acting contrary to foreign policy or national security interests

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department today released for publication in the Federal Register a final rule amending the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) by adding 37 entities to the entity list.

The EAR impose additional license requirements on, and limit the availability of most license exceptions for exports, reexports, and transfers (in-country) to listed entities.

According to today’s final rule [PDF 321 KB], 37 entities have been determined by the U.S. government to be acting contrary to the foreign policy or national security interests of the United States. These entities will be listed on the entity list under the destinations of China, Georgia, Malaysia, and Turkey.

The final rule also modifies one existing entry on the entity list under the destination of China.

According to a separate Treasury release, eight of the entities in China have been found to actively support the biometric surveillance and tracking of ethnic and religious minorities, particularly the predominantly Muslim Uyghur minority in Xinjiang.  Accordingly, U.S. persons will be prohibited from purchasing or selling certain publicly traded securities connected with these eight entities.
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.