U.S. product exclusion extensions, Section 301 action concerning medical-care products imported from China (COVID-19)

Extension of product exclusions through November 30, 2021, and May 31, 2022

Section 301 action concerning medical-care products imported from China (COVID-19)

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice concerning the Section 301 investigation of China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation.

The subject of the notice is medical-care products to address the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

  • The USTR in December 2020 announced 99 exclusions for medical-care products (that in turn were extended in subsequent notices).
  • The USTR in August 2021 requested comments on whether to further extend the exclusions.
  • The USTR in September 2021 announced an interim extension of the exclusions through November 14, 2021. Read TradeNewsFlash

Today’s notice [PDF 267 KB] announces that, to provide a transition period, the 99 exclusions scheduled to expire on November 14, 2021, are extended through November 30, 2021. Of those exclusions, 81 are extended through May 31, 2022 (six months after November 30, 2021).
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.