USTR addresses U.S. approach to trade relationship with China

Biden Administration’s approach to the U.S. trade relationship with China

Biden Administration’s approach to the U.S. trade relationship with China

U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) Katherine Tai today presented a speech outlining the U.S. approach toward its trade policies regarding China.

In the speech delivered at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, the USTR outlined the Biden Administration’s approach to the U.S. trade relationship with China.

The Office of the USTR, in connection with the speech, released a fact sheet announcing the following initial steps in its process to re-align the U.S. trade policies with China:

  • To hold China accountable for “Phase One” commitments
  • To restart domestic tariff exclusions process to mitigate the effects of certain Section 301 tariffs
  • To raise broader concerns with Beijing's non-market policies and practices such as abuse of state-owned enterprises, anti-competitive behavior and subsidies, and the theft of U.S. intellectual property
  • To consult and coordinate with allies and trade partners and to work collectively to set the “rules of the road” for trade and technology, and strengthen the global market

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.