U.S. “web general licenses” relating to Ukraine

Five web general licenses that expired, one web general license that was revoked

Five web general licenses that expired, one web general license that was revoked

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today released for publication in the Federal Register a document concerning the publication of “web general licenses” related to Ukraine.

Today’s OFAC document [PDF 260 KB] announces the publication of five Ukraine web general licenses (GL)—GL16, GL16A, GL16B, GL16C, and GL16D—each of which was previously issued on OFAC’s website and is now expired.

OFAC also today announced the publication of GL16E, which was also previously issued on OFAC’s website and then revoked in January 2019.

The OFAC document is scheduled to be published in the Federal Register on October 28, 2021.

Background

The president in March 2016 declared a national emergency via an executive order to deal with an “unusual and extraordinary threat” from Ukraine to U.S. national security and foreign policy.

OFAC in June 2018 issued GL16 to authorize certain transactions and activities ordinarily incident and necessary to the maintenance or wind-down of operations, contracts or other agreements, including the importation of goods, services or technology into the United States, involving certain identified entities. Subsequently, OFAC issued five further iterations of GL16—each of which extended the period the authorizations in GL16 remained in effect.
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.