U.S. proposed rule concerning “license exception strategic trade authorization”

Amend the EAR to clarify and expand restrictions on the availability of “license exception strategic trade authorization”

“License exception strategic trade authorization”

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department today released for publication in the Federal Register a proposed rule to amend the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) to clarify and expand restrictions on the availability of “license exception strategic trade authorization” (STA) for the export, reexport, and transfer (in-country) of certain items controlled under the EAR.

Specifically, the proposed rule [PDF 417 KB] is intended to clarify an STA special conditions paragraph in certain Category 9 export control classification numbers (ECCNs) on the Commerce Control List (CCL) to refer exporters to the limitations set forth in the EAR.

Today’s rule also proposes:

  • To further restrict the availability of license exception STA for certain technology controlled under ECCNs 2E003.f and 1E001, in continuing the efforts to improve export controls and refine the license exception STA
  • Conforming amendments to the license exception STA and with regard to affected ECCNs

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.