U.S. interim final rule, information security controls of cybersecurity items

Comments about the interim final rule are due no later than 45 days after October 21, 2021.

Comments about the interim final rule are due no later than 45 days after October 21, 2021

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department today released for publication in the Federal Register an interim final rule and request for comments concerning information security controls of cybersecurity items.

The items warrant controls because they could be used for surveillance, espionage or other actions that disrupt, deny or degrade the network or devices on it.

The interim final rule [PDF 310 KB] (12 pages as published in the Federal Register on October 21, 2021) reflects:

  • Progress that the United States has made in export controls pertaining to cybersecurity items
  • Revised measures regarding Commerce Control List (CCL) implementation
  • Requests for comments about the effects of these revised controls on U.S. industry and the cybersecurity community

Specifically, the interim final rule establishes a new control on cybersecurity items for national security and anti-terrorism reasons, along with a new license-exception Authorized Cybersecurity Exports (ACE) regime that authorizes exports of these items to most destinations except in certain circumstances.

Comments about the interim final rule are due December 6, 2021. 
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.