U.S. control of deuterium for non-nuclear end-use under Export Administration Regulations (EAR)

The responsibility for the licensing of exports of deuterium for non-nuclear end-use is being transferred to BIS.

Responsibility for the licensing of exports of deuterium for non-nuclear end-use

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Department of Commerce today released for publication in the Federal Register a final rule—in conjunction with a U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) final rule—to revise the regulations to remove the NRC’s licensing authority for exports of deuterium for non-nuclear end-use.

The responsibility for the licensing of exports of deuterium for non-nuclear end-use is being transferred to BIS.

Today’s final rule [PDF 243 KB] includes deuterium under the BIS export licensing jurisdiction as per the Export Administration Regulations (EAR).

The final rule describes changes made to the EAR regarding deuterium (as moved from the export control authority of the NRC to the export control authority of BIS under the EAR). Exports of deuterium for nuclear end-use will remain under the NRC’s export licensing jurisdiction.
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Principal
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Principal
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.