U.S. evaluation of semiconductor supply chain

Request for public comments from interested parties concerning risks in the semiconductor supply chain

Request for public comments from interested parties

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Department of Commerce today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice of request for public comments concerning risks in the semiconductor supply chain.

BIS led a 100-day supply chain review of semiconductors and advanced packaging that was mandated by a presidential executive order. In February 2021, President Biden issued an executive order on “America’s Supply Chains,” that directed several federal agency actions to secure and strengthen U.S. supply chains. This review identified numerous areas of supply chain vulnerabilities. Read TradeNewsFlash

Today’s notice [PDF 201 KB] (as published in the Federal Register on September 24, 2021) seeks responses from interested parties (including domestic and foreign semiconductor design firms, semiconductor manufacturers, materials and equipment suppliers, as well as semiconductor intermediate and end-users) to certain questions, with the goal of accelerating information-flow across the various segments of the supply chain, identifying data gaps and bottlenecks in the supply chain and potential inconsistent demand signals.

Written comments and other information in response to the request must be received no later than 45 days after publication in the Federal Register (scheduled for September 24, 2021). 
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.