U.S. sanctions of Belarusian individuals, entities

The OFAC announced sanctions pursuant to executive order, as well as a new executive order that expands Belarus sanctions authorities

U.S. sanctions of Belarusian individuals, entities

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today announced sanctions of 27 individuals and 17 entities pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 13405, as well as a new executive order (dated August 9, 2021) that expands Belarus sanctions authorities. 

According to a Treasury release, these OFAC actions represent the largest Belarus-related tranche of designations imposed by OFAC to date. 

  • OFAC is designating two major Belarusian state-owned enterprises as being owned or controlled by, directly or indirectly, the government of Belarus and for operating or having operated in the potash sector of the economy of Belarus.  The EU on June 24, 2021, prohibited the purchase, import or transfer from Belarus of potash.

  • OFAC is concurrently issuing Belarus General License 4 [PDF 99 KB] to provide U.S. persons 120 days in which to wind down transactions involving the identified state-owned enterprises. Read a set of frequently asked questions (FAQs) prepared by OFAC.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.