Revisions to U.S. Munitions List Categories I, II, and III

Transfers items that no longer warrant control on the USML in the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) to the Commerce Control List (CCL)

Transfers items that no longer warrant control on the USML

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department today released for publication in the Federal Register a final rule—"Control of Firearms, Guns, Ammunition and Related Articles the President Determines No Longer Warrant Control under the United States Munitions List (USML)”—that revises the U.S. Munitions List (USML).

The final rule [PDF 321 KB] reflects revisions to the following categories of the USML:

  • Category I (firearms, close assault weapons and combat shotguns)
  • Category II (guns and armaments)
  • Category III (ammunition/ordnance)

Today’s final rule transfers items that no longer warrant control on the USML in the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) to the Commerce Control List (CCL), pursuant to a January 2020 release and completes the initial review of the USML that began in 2011. It also makes conforming changes to the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) to control these items on the CCL.

Read about the January 2020 final rule in TradeNewsFlash
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com