CBP “withhold release order” regarding seafood harvested with forced labor

CBP personnel at all U.S. ports of entry will detain tuna and other seafood harvested by the identified fishing vessel.

CBP personnel at all U.S. ports of entry will detain tuna and other seafood

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today issued a “withhold release order” against a Fijian flagged and owned longliner fishing vessel, based on information that “reasonably indicates the use of forced labor in the vessel’s fishing operations.”

Today’s CBP release states that at least three of the International Labour Organization’s 11 indicators of forced labor were identified during CBP’s investigation, namely:

  • Withholding of wages
  • Debt bondage
  • Retention of identity documents

Effective August 4, 2021, CBP personnel at all U.S. ports of entry will detain tuna and other seafood harvested by the identified fishing vessel.

KPMG observation

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative in May 2021 submitted a proposal to the World Trade Organization (WTO) concerning the use of forced labor on fishing vessels. The U.S. proposal, among other things, calls for WTO members to recognize the forced labor problem and the need to address it. Read TradeNewsFlash


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.