U.S. company to pay $1.4 million to settle 2,260 violations of sanctions

Potential civil liability for apparent violations totaling over $802,000

Potential civil liability for apparent violations totaling over $802,000

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today announced that a U.S. company has agreed to pay approximately $1.4 million to settle its potential civil liability for 2,260 apparent violations, totaling over $802,000, and made in violation of multiple U.S. sanctions.

According to today’s OFAC release [PDF 208 KB], the company—a publicly traded New York-based online money transmitter and provider of prepaid access—processed between February 2013 and February 2018:

  • 2,241 payments for parties located in certain jurisdictions and regions subject to sanctions including the Crimea region of Ukraine, Iran, Sudan, and Syria
  • 19 payments on behalf of sanctioned persons on OFAC’s list of specially designated nationals and blocked persons (SDN list)

The company’s sanctions compliance program deficiencies at the relevant times—including its screening, testing, auditing, and transaction review procedures—enabled persons in the identified jurisdictions and on the SDN list to engage in approximately $802,000 worth of transactions.

OFAC determined that:

  • The 2,241 payments were not voluntarily self-disclosed.
  • The 19 payments regarding the SND list were voluntarily self-disclosed.
  • All transactions were non-egregious.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.