United States requests Mexico’s review of collective bargaining rights pursuant to USMCA

USTR issued a release announcing that United States requests Mexico’s review of collective bargaining rights

United States requests Mexico’s review of collective bargaining rights pursuant to USMCA

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) issued a release announcing that the United States has asked Mexico to review whether workers at a U.S. automotive parts facility in Mexico were being denied the right of free association and collective bargaining.

According to the USTR release, this request is the second time ever, and the second time in the past month, that the United States has invoked the “rapid response labor mechanism” as contained in the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA). 

Summary

The USTR and the Interagency Labor Committee for Monitoring and Enforcement (ILC) in May 2021 received a petition that alleged that workers at an automotive parts facility in Matamoros, Mexico, were being denied the right of free association and collective bargaining.

The ILC then determined that there was sufficient credible evidence of a denial of rights, thereby enabling the good faith invocation of enforcement mechanisms.  As a result, the USTR submitted a request to Mexico for a review as to whether workers at the Matamoros facility were being denied the right of free association and collective bargaining.  

Mexico has 10 days (from June 9, 2021) to agree to conduct a review and, if it agrees with the allegations in the U.S. request, 45 days to remediate.  


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.