close
Share with your friends

United States amends EAR reflecting UAE termination of boycott of Israel

Prohibitions and reporting requirements contained in EAR’s antiboycott provisions do not apply to requests from the UAE made after August 16, 2020.

Prohibitions and reporting requirements contained in EAR’s antiboycott provisions

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department released for publication in the Federal Register a final rule amending the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) to reflect the formal termination by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) of its participation in a boycott of Israel.

In recognition of the UAE’s August 16, 2020 issuance of Federal Decree-Law No. 4 of 2020, certain requests for information, action or agreement from the UAE that were presumed to be boycott-related if made prior to August 16, 2020, would not be presumed to be boycott-related if made following that date, and thus would not be prohibited or reportable under the EAR.

Accordingly, BIS added an interpretation to the “Restrictive Trade Practices or Boycotts” regulations of the EAR expressing a view that the prohibitions and reporting requirements contained in the EAR’s antiboycott provisions do not apply to such requests from the UAE made after August 16, 2020.

The final rule [PDF 221 KB]—effective today, June 8, 2021—reflects the UAE’s formal termination (through the issuance of the August 16, 2020 decree) of its participation in the boycott of Israel.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.