U.S. sanctions regulations related to Myanmar

The final rule implements a February 2021 Myanmar-related executive order.

The final rule implements a February 2021 Myanmar-related executive order.

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today released for publication in the Federal Register a final rule concerning Myanmar (Burma) sanctions regulations.

Today’s final rule [PDF 321 KB] implements a February 2021 Myanmar-related executive order.

The regulations are published in abbreviated form for the purpose of providing immediate guidance. OFAC intends to supplement these regulations with a more comprehensive set of regulations that may include additional interpretive and definitional guidance, general licenses, and other regulatory provisions.

Background

The president on February 10, 2021, issued Executive Order (E.O.) 14014 “Blocking Property With Respect to the Situation in Burma.”

In E.O. 14014, the president determined that the situation in and in relation to Myanmar, and in particular the February 2021 coup, constitutes “an unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States” and declared a national emergency to deal with that threat.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.