U.S. proposal regarding forced labor on fishing vessels

USTR submitted a proposal to the WTO concerning the use of forced labor on fishing vessels.

USTR submitted a proposal to the WTO concerning the use of forced labor on fishing vessels

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) submitted a proposal [PDF 140 KB] to the World Trade Organization (WTO) concerning the use of forced labor on fishing vessels.  

According to a related USTR release, the U.S. proposal:

  • Urges WTO members to help in the ongoing negotiations to curb harmful subsidies to fishing activities that may be associated with the use of forced labor (such as illegal, unreported, and unregulated (IUU) fishing)
  • Calls for WTO members to recognize the forced labor problem and the need to address it
  • Proposes additional transparency with respect to vessels or operators that use forced labor

For several years, WTO member countries have been engaged in multilateral negotiations to prohibit harmful fisheries subsidies—including subsidies that contribute to overcapacity and overfishing and subsidies to vessels engaged in IUU fishing.  


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.