Trade measures in Biden Administration’s FY 2022 budget proposals

According to a USTR release, the budget would support the president’s trade agenda.

According to a USTR release, the budget would support the president’s trade agenda.

The Biden Administration today transmitted to Congress its budget recommendations for fiscal year (FY) 2022.

An administration’s budget reflects the policy priorities of the administration and includes its recommendations to Congress for spending and taxation for the fiscal year that begins October 1, 2021. Congress decides whether to implement those recommendations, and the congressional budgets may diverge substantially from the administration’s recommendations. Read TaxNewsFlash

According to a USTR release, the budget would support the president’s trade agenda by, among other items:

  • Developing and implementing a comprehensive trade policy aimed at recovery from effects of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  • Enforcing U.S. trade laws, monitoring foreign countries’ compliance with trade obligations, addressing unfair trading practices, and encouraging broader participation in international trade
  • Improving labor standards, strengthening environmental standards, and supporting the administration’s work to address climate change, support public health improvements, and eliminate social and economic barriers


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.