Revisions to military end-user list, U.S. munitions list for 3-D printing of firearms

Information concerning the military end-user (MEU) list and the U.S. munitions list released for publication in the Federal Register

Information concerning the military end-user (MEU) list and the U.S. munitions list

Information concerning the military end-user (MEU) list and the U.S. munitions list released for publication in the Federal Register include:

  • A final rule [PDF 273 KB] from the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department amending the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and:
    • Adding eight entities to the entity list that have been determined by the U.S. government to be acting contrary to the national security or foreign policy interests of the United States (entities to be listed on the entity list under the destinations of Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates (UAE))
    • Revising two existing entries and correcting one existing entry on the entity list under the destination of China, and removing one entity from and revising another existing entry on the military end-user (MEU) list under the destination of China
    • Removing one entity under the destination of Pakistan
  • A notification of vacatur of a prior preliminary injunction [PDF 239 KB] from the U.S. State Department regarding a preliminary injunction previously ordered by a federal district court in March 2020. As a result of the vacatur, the State Department’s previously issued final rule [PDF 341 KB] (January 23, 2020) goes into full effect. Therefore, software and technical data related to 3-D printing of firearms or components transferred to the EAR are now exclusively controlled by the EAR.

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.