EU: New export controls for “dual-use” goods and technologies

Regulation intended to modernize the EU system for the control of exports and transfers of “dual-use goods”

Modernize the EU system for the control of exports and transfers of “dual-use goods”

The European Council announced an update to EU rules on export controls for sensitive dual-use goods and technologies—such as cyber-surveillance tools.

The Council on 10 May 2021 adopted a regulation intended to modernize the EU system for the control of exports and transfers of “dual-use goods” (such as software and technology that can be used for both civilian and military applications).

According to a release from the European Council, the new measures:

  • Strengthen controls on a broader range of emerging dual-use technologies
  • Enhance coordination between EU Member States and the European Commission regarding effective enforcement of controls of dual-use goods throughout the EU
  • Provide an important role to companies in addressing risks to international security that may be posed by dual-use items and introduce due diligence obligations for producers
  • Arrange for better coordination between the EU and partner countries for enhanced international security via export controls at the global level

The regulation will be published in the EU Official Journal and become effective 90 days later (after the European Parliament and the Council sign the adopted regulation).
 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.