U.S. company agrees to pay $435,000 for imports of engineering services from Iran

An Oklahoma company has agreed to pay approximately $435,000 to settle its potential civil liability for violations

An Oklahoma company agreed to pay to settle its potential civil liability for violations

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today announced that an Oklahoma company has agreed to pay approximately $435,000 to settle its potential civil liability for violations of the Iranian sanctions regulations.

The company—a designer and manufacturer of prefabricated steel structures—is headquartered in Oklahoma City. According to the OFAC release [PDF 109 KB], the company on over 60 occasions between October 2013 and October 2018, “knowingly imported” engineering services from a third-party engineering company located in Tehran, Iran.

The OFAC reported that multiple members of the company’s senior management were aware of these transactions and participated in the approval process, which, in each transaction, included reviewing a two-page invoice containing the company’s permanent address in Tehran.

The OFAC concluded that these violations were non-egregious and also were voluntarily self-disclosed by the company. After new management learned of the apparent violations, the company halted all work with the Iranian engineering company and took a number of remedial steps to institute risk-based controls and prevent the recurrence of such conduct.

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.