U.S. annual “special 301 report” on protecting intellectual property rights

Adequacy and effectiveness of the U.S. trading partner countries’ protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights

Adequacy and effectiveness of countries’ protection and enforcement of IP rights

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released its annual “special 301 report” on the adequacy and effectiveness of the U.S. trading partner countries’ protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights.

The “special 301 report” details the USTR’s findings of more than 100 trading partner countries after significant research and enhanced engagement with stakeholders.

Read the USTR release

The report highlights progress made by U.S. trading partners to resolve and address intellectual property rights issues of concern to the United States, revealing that:

  • The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is removed from the “watch list” due to the Ministry of Health and Prevention resolving concerns with IP protection of pharmaceutical products.  The UAE also made progress on longstanding IP enforcement concerns. 
  • Algeria is moved from the “priority watch list” to the “watch list” due to steps the government has taken to engage and cooperate with stakeholders, improve enforcement efforts, and reduce IP-related market access barriers.
  • Brazil’s law enforcement launched “Operation 404.2,” which seized the domain names of multiple commercial websites engaged in the illegal reproduction and distribution of copyrighted works.
  • A Taiwan semiconductor company and three former employees were found guilty of stealing trade secrets from a U.S. company that enabled the development of semiconductor chips by a Chinese state-owned enterprise. The case involved substantial cooperation with U.S. investigators and prosecutors.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.